Wednesday, November 28, 2012

[SEHA] Fwd: Student Projects to Foster Green Laboratories: Thursday Dec 6th, 11am

Hi SEHA, 

I am currently in ENVIR 480 Sustainability Studio course that is looking at how to make labs more green. We are wrapping up our quarterly projects and presenting next Thursday! 

See attached email for more details.

Please come join us if you're interested in the topic, or just want to come see me present! 
I'd love to see some familiar faces.

Momo

Begin forwarded message:

From: Megan Horst <horstm@uw.edu>
Subject: Student Projects to Foster Green Laboratories: Thursday Dec 6th, 11am
Date: November 8, 2012 1:37:13 PM PST
To: "Angela B. Herr" <aherr@u.washington.edu>, Jaron Cramer <jaron@u.washington.edu>, Matt Calantas <calanm@u.washington.edu>, Kate Stevenson <kates17@u.washington.edu>, sylvfh08@u.washington.edu, "Wesley C. Greenberg" <greenw3@u.washington.edu>, Momoka Nakamura <momoka@u.washington.edu>, rileys42@u.washington.edu, mikemeneghini16@gmail.com, "Iyada J. Songtantaruk" <junesong@u.washington.edu>, "Terra M. Miller-Cassman" <terram2@u.washington.edu>

(Students- FYI, I am inviting a bunch of people, incluing but way beyond your clients!!!)

Hello supporters of UW sustainability and green initiatives,

Did you know laboratories use 5 to 10 times more energy per square foot than an average office building? Labs also use a lot of water and generate (literally) tons of waste. Meanwhile, lab facilities make up about 13% of square feet at UW- altogether almost 2.4 million square feet.
Can lab science be sustainable?

I invite you to SAVE THE DATE for a presentation about student-led projects to foster Green Laboratories at UW, by students from ENVIR 480: Sustainability Studio. 
Thursday, December 6th, 11:00am-12:00pm, followed by a short reception.
Poplar Hall Commons, corner of Brooklyn Ave and NE Campus Parkway (and home to a Sustainable Living Community).
Topics include: Green Purchasing, Waste, Sink Aerators and Growth Chambers, and Energy Use.
Clients include: various UW labs, Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability Office, UW Facilities, Purchasing and Procurement and more.

The student projects are a springboard to a formal UW Green Labs program, being launched by the Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability Office. 

Hope to see you there! Flyer attached.
--
Megan Horst
PhD student, Urban Design and Planning
and Instructor, ENVIR 480 and Keio Summer Program
University of Washington